Online Reviews

Style & Beauty Doctor

March 2014

View Details
Style & Beauty Doctor

March 2014

the grapefruit-scented non-drying clarifying cream you want to try- Am I alone in loving hair products? lol I mean, give me a deep conditioning treatment or some cool new styling product and I'm a happy girl. There's just something so luxurious about getting a new hair treatment—the scent, the feel, the performance, the results. And when you get one you really love, it's like euphoria!Ouidad recently launched the Superfruit Renewal Clarifying Cream Shampoo and sent over a sample for review consideration. The sulfate-free shampoo removes product build-up—all of it—yet surprisingly won't strip your hair dry like traditional clarifying shampoos would. In fact, it made my hair SO extremely clean (for reference I'm natural, often wear my hair straight, and currently wearing extensions), soft and shiny after using it (not to mention I LOVE the grapefruit scent) that I had to double check the label to make sure I was using a clarifying shampoo…lol. And this isn't the first time I've been extremely pleased by a Ouidad cleanser. The Cleansing Oil is also the bee's knees and also gave me incredible shine and left my hair supple. Bottom line: I LOVE this! It's not something you'd use often since it's a clarifying shampoo, but I'll be using it whenever I need it and would also repurchase. Price and where to buy: $18 for 8.5 fl oz, $54 for 33.8 oz at Ouidad (and 5% cash back when you use eBates)

Essence.com

March 2014

View Details
Essence.com

March 2014

Clarifying shampoos are generally a no-go for curly girls. Best for fine, pin-straight hair types, they're designed to remove product build-up and often give a volume boost to those with limp locks. But for curls and kinks, they can strip hair of must-needed moisture. Ouidad, a line designed for textured hair (from waves to kinks), has just this month debuted a new product Superfruit Renewal Clarifying Cream Shampoo that's supposed to be gentle enough for curls and kinks. I gave it a try. Full disclosure: I kind of owe my curls to Ouidad. Back in 2008, I was fresh out of graduate school at NYU, a beauty assistant at Redbook magazine—and completely unaware that my hair was curly. I had been flat ironing or pressing it straight for over a decade. My strands had been so damaged that when left to their own devices they were frizzy-wavy at best. It wasn't until I went to a press event at Ouidad that I got a glimpse of my true texture. She scrunched and twisted my hair into a loose curl—I cut it into a short curly bob six months later. I'm bit of a product junkie. I love to layer up oils, styling creams, and leave-ins. The result is curls that fall just so—and, lots of product build-up on my scalp. Ouidad's Superfruit did a great job of removing stubborn residue; my scalp felt airy and clean after two washes. The sulfate-free the shampoo didn't seem to strip my hair of its moisture. I didn't get that aggressively clean squeak once I rinsed. I conditioned as usual and left my hair to air dry—my curls were boing-y and soft, not at all parched. I've used the banana extract-infused shampoo three times now. I give it a thumbs up for my super fine, ramen-noodle tight curls. And I'll definitely be incorporating it into my routine as a twice-a-month clarifier.

TheGlossarie.com

March 2014

View Details
TheGlossarie.com

March 2014

sometimes my hair feels…congested. product buildup can cause it to go heavy and limp and kind of dull at virtually no notice. i used to rely on drugstore detox shampoos like this one to get things back to normal, but i've found that they really strip things down and dry them out unnecessarily – almost creating more trouble than they are worth. lucky for me detox shampoos have come a long (and i mean long) way. i've been playing with two new releases from phyto and ouidad to the tune of squeaky clean and extra gorgeous results. ouidad superfruit renewal clarifying cream shampoo, $18 anyone with curly hair knows that it's notoriously sensitive to product buildup, so it's no surprise that the queen of curl has created the epitome of clarifying shampoos. this cream shampoo feels more like a conditioner, but lathers beautifully to get all of the gunk out of your hair. it smells heavenly, making my shower feel like a sweetly scented oasis that really adds to the whole experience. while it's a wiz at detoxing, the addition of five superfruit acids add vibrancy, shine, softness and bounce leaving my hair looking the best it ever has. phytoneutre detox clarifying shampoo, $19 this option from phyto is also a cream formula that eliminates buildup, but eucalyptus oil means that your hair's natural protective barrier remains intact. chamomile, sage, and witch hazel break down even the strongest-holding styling products while delivering a boost of oxygen to your scalp that you can actually feel. i find that the scent here is weighted in eucalyptus for a fresher, deep clean (and tingle!), but that the results are incredible. with mostly natural ingredients and a concentrated formula, you'll notice that a little goes a long way. with results like these, you're probably wondering why i don't make either (or both!) of these my regular go-to shampoo. the truth is that detoxifying shampoos should really only used once a week, but either of these beauties would make a perfect complement to whatever shampoo/conditioner duo you're already committed to – and will probably make them work even better.

Vogue.com

March 2014

View Details
Vogue.com

March 2014

Do you have a colorist who helps you to maintain it and how does that work? It seems tricky! Ian Scott Dorey at Ouidad [in New York City] dyes my hair. Instead of dyeing the stripe, he just dyes the brown part of my hair darker so that it's really high-contrast. I see him probably once every six months. I had never dyed my hair before putting the stripe in it, so you can imagine it was a bit of a crazy first thing to do!

EvCurlGurl.com

February 2014

View Details
EvCurlGurl.com

February 2014

OUIDAD & NYFW: Making Waves Backstage at TRACY REESE Curl~Gurl Making Waves with OUIDAD at the Tracy Reese Fall 2014 NYFW The second I walked backstage into the Tracy Reese Fall 2014 Fashion Show and saw OUIDAD, I immediately said "I have come FULL CIRCLE!" I was overwhelmed with joy, as this is the woman responsible for the EvCurlGurl you see today! My 4th season covering NYFW and I always said that one day I would be backstage with Ouidad herself. See, if it weren't for her "Catwalk of Curls" event back in March 2011 where I was a demo hair model, I would have never been discovered, become a writer and later an Editor. The rest is history!For the second consecutive year, OUIDAD and her team were the official hair care team for the Tracy Reese Fall 2014 runway show. OUIDAD stylists created bold, emotional and individual textured styles, regardless of the models hair type. Mally Beauty also returned for make-up, with Sally Hansen returning for the 17th consecutive season! I learned to new ways to create texture and curls, for those with even the straightest, hard-to-curl hair: 1) weave hair through a large bobby pin and press with a flat iron and 2) small braid pressed with a flat iron. Once you remove the pin or unbraid the hair, you have tons of texture!

Redbook.com

February 2014

View Details
Redbook.com

February 2014

Tracee Ellis Ross To get the effect Willhite calls “soft and effortless,” she suggests applying a cream like Ouidad's Curl Quencher Hydrafusion Intense Curl Cream ($26) to wet hair. Then diffuse hair upside down. Once it's completely dry, add a couple drops of a frizz-fighting serum for a soft finish.

DailyCandy.com

February 2014

View Details
DailyCandy.com

February 2014

OUIDAD CURL RECOVERY ULTRA-NOURISHING CLEANSING OIL “Beach spray's salt quotient takes a toll on my naturally wavy locks. Before I spritz, I employ this formula to wash out the previous day's spray while adding serious but weightless moisture. And apparently, it works for more than curls — my roommate's been siphoning it for her pin-straight hair.” — Jillian King, assistant managing editor Available at ouidad.com, $10-$75.

ModernSalon.com

February 2014

View Details
ModernSalon.com

February 2014

In today's fast-paced world, time is of the essence and, for your curly client, a “second day” hair option is extremely important. Help your clients over the “second day” hump with this four-point plan to refresh and maintain their natural curls. 1. Tell her: Embrace the pineapple. “Achieving longevity with your clients' curls requires proper placement when sleeping—it's what we call the pineapple, and no it doesn't look cute. But it helps your clients look good on their second day,” says Morgan Wilhite, creative director at Ouidad. Using a soft scrunchie-like hair-tie, show your client how to gather her hair and position it on the crown area of the head for a high pony. The outer layer of hair will protect the surface curls, eliminating frizz. Clients can also wrap the hair at night with a satin scarf to help prevent moisture loss. Fibers such as cotton will absorb natural oils and leave the hair dry. 2. Tell her: Twist it out. Clients can protect, enhance or save their curl pattern while sleeping by slightly twisting or plaiting their hair before bed. “Curls have the tendency to smooth while sleeping,” says Toni Jackson, Mizani educator. To keep style control, recommend large sectioned pincurls when preparing the hair for sleep. Follow the created direction of the curl and secure lightly with a pin. 3. Tell her: Let the hair “crest.” Keeping the hair balanced with the proper amount of moisture is important when wanting to maintain curl vibrancy, bounce and retention between professional salon visits. The hair will only accept the amount of product it can absorb. Layering the hair with too much moisture will produce limp, unresponsive curls. “When refreshing curls with water or a styling product, clients should let the hair ‘crest' or dry momentarily before manipulation. Running your fingers or a tool through wet hair separates the cuticle and contributes to the frizz factor,” says Jackson. Clients can protect, enhance or save their curl pattern while sleeping by slightly twisting or plaiting their hair before bed. “Curls have the tendency to smooth while sleeping,” says Toni Jackson, Mizani educator. To keep style control, recommend large sectioned pincurls when preparing the hair for sleep. Follow the created direction of the curl and secure lightly with a pin. 4. Tell her: Don't fear thermal tools. If your client experiences areas where their curls appear lifeless, suggest a quick fix with a curling iron. Ceramic curling wands are an easy and fun way for clients to keep their curls defined and shapely, but be sure to educate them on proper usage to avoid potential heat damage. “Thermal products that contain anti-breakage protection are great for keeping the integrity of curls,” says Veronique Morrison, an independent texture consultant and curl pro.

close
Loading...
loading